About Megan

She/Her/Hers

I am a fifth generation Oregonian on both sides of my family. Born in Corvallis to two OSU grads, my family relocated to Boston when I was a child. Every summer we came to visit our family in Oregon made me dream of living here one day. After marrying my husband in Bend in 2003, we started our family in the Southwest but were able to make the dream of a forever home with our three young children (and a turtle) come true in 2018.

 

I have a degree in Political Science from The Colorado College and a Masters from George Washington University, which lead to a career in political campaign work, including a congressional race in Boston, John Kerry’s Presidential campaign, and a mayoral campaign for an historic election in Santa Fe (where, in over 400 years of history, only one woman has been mayor).

I’ve also held government positions in Wisconsin for the Office of the Governor and the State Treasurer as well as John Kerry’s Senate office in Washington DC. While in Santa Fe, my primary efforts included leadership for Girls on the Run and community activism for the Santa Fe Public Schools.  More recently I chose to focus on raising our children, two of whom have high needs. Moving to Bend and seeing how my children fit into the community here became the perfect launching pad for my co-founding Embrace Bend, an organization that began as a support structure for parents of children of color and has turned into a group with a big community presence advocating for inclusion, promoting allyship and learning opportunities and providing community care for People of Color. Additionally, I have served on the leadership team of Moms Demand Action and as a Be Smart presenter advocating for secure storage of firearms, on the board of the Summit West Neighborhood Association, and am active in my children’s elementary school, serving on the Site Council. I am also a Girl Scout Troop Leader for my daughter’s Brownie Troop.

I enjoy hiking, running and snow shoeing and we head into the mountains or to the river as often as we can! I also love seeing live music and spend my summer happily going from concert to concert. Another favorite thing to do is visit my 102-year-old grandmother (who lives independently and still drives) in Sunriver and listen to her stories.

©2020 by Megan Perkins for Bend City Council